The following text was taken directly from the 125th Anniversary commerative booklet that was prepared by Mayor Chelik, Andy Sabric, Phyllis Jaskoweic, and John Uram.  The complete booklet is an excellent source of borough history, copies are still available at the Borough Building for $12.50.

History of Mayfield

In April of 1881, seventy-five free holders of the town of Glenwood (a part of Carbondale Township) in Lackawanna County filed a petition with the Court of Quarter Sessions of the Peace for the County of Lackawanna for the Incorporation of the Borough of Glenwood.

The petition stated the undersigned inhabitants of the town of Glenwood in the said County of Lackawanna, respectively represents that the said Town contains a collection of houses co-located after a regular plan in regard to streets and lanes and that the petitioners reside within the limits thereof as hereafter set forth and described and that the same contains not more than seventy-five free holders that are desirous that said Town should be incorporated by the style and title of the Borough of Glenwood according to the following boundaries viz.

The petitioners were John B. Davis, James Mullally, M.M. Johnson, Patrick Bergan, Alex Alkman, Hart W. Goodrich, Charles Kilgannon, Mary Hanofey, William Walker, James Winn, Thomas C. Hickie, John Cawley, Thomas Brady, Robert Roe, Thomas McGouldrick, John Tighe, William Mullaly, Thomas Lloyd, Lewis M. Adams, Patrick Duffy, David R. Evans, Charls Mayers, James Mack, John W. Griffiths, Thomas L. Williams, MJ. McCarty, John E. Jons, James Lewis, John Mason, Michael Farrell, James Edmunds, Sarah D. Whitmore, George Hutchins, G.R. Smith, James Edmunds Jr., Charles B. Smith, William T. Davis, Thomas W. Edwards, John W Evans, Jerome Moon, Harvey Reynolds, Oliver Turner, Samuel Reynolds, Ernest W. Warely, George Reynolds, Theron Moon, David G. Williams, Peter Ditmore, Henry Williams, James Griffiths, John M. Evans, Thomas Grier, Mrs. Aney Kearney, Hiram Neal, Thomas Green, Andrew Lee, Graham Waring, J.M. Ross, James Meehan, Charles Lee, Peter Mullen, John McGowan, James Brady, Charles Stephens, Robert Murray, William B.C. Reese, Patrick Carney, William Cawley, Federick Johnson, Joseph Wall, M. Mullally, James Quinn, Hillside Coal & Iron Company by Saml  Hines.

On November 7 in 1881 the Court of Lackawanna County confirmed the petition of the residents and established the Borough of Glenwood.

The village was developed around the workings of the Glenwood coal breaker operated by the Hillside Coal& Iron Company. It was located between the Lackawanna River and the Delaware & Hudson Railroad in the southern section of the city. The success of the Gravity Railroad of the Delaware & Hudson Canal Company in bringing the anthracite coal of the area around Carbondale, Pa., to the markets in New York City, played a great role in the settlement of communities in the Lackawanna River valley.

In August of 1888 a document en-titled Alteration of the Charter of the Borugh of Glenwood to the Borough of Mayville was filed by reason of there being a town by the name of Glenwood in the County of Susquehanna adjoining, the inhabitants of said Borough of Glenwood are greatly inconvenienced in the matter of the reception and distribution of their mails and in many other ways.

Among the signers were James C. Sullivan, Burgess, Peter Forbes, Secretary of Council, and Councilmen Jas. Gilligan, John Grady, Van R. Adams, E.L. Burritt, Thomas D. Williams, and Ed Edmunds. Other residents who signed were William Walker, Joseph Dempsey, John B. Davis, Patrick Bergan, P.H. Quinn, Jonathan Buckingham, Patrick Sheridan, Thomas Green, Frank Coggins, Henry Mills, M. G. Neary, Stephen Whitmore, T.M. Hart, Sherman Tompkins, N. Depew, and 156 others..

On October 18, 1888, the Court granted approval of the alteration to original charter, and Glenwood became the Borough of Mayville, named in honor of William A. May, manager of the Hillside Coal and Iron Company, in recognition of the part he played in the development of the anthracite mining operations, the chief industry in the community.

In 1890 the residents of Mayville filed an Alteration of the Charter of the Borough of Mayville to the Borough of Mayfield, by reason of the fact of the existence of another Post Office in the state under the name of Mayville, the Post Office in the said borough cannot bear that name, that the inhabitants of the said borough are greatly inconvenienced in the matter of the reception and distribution of their mails and in many other ways by reason of the above

Among the signers were Burgess James C. Sullivan, Borough Secretary Peter Forbes, E.A. Turner Postmaster, and Councilmen James Gilligan, Edward Edmunds, Thomas D. Williams, E. L. Burritt, W. J. Bergan, and J. F Grady.  Also, residents P.H. Quinn, P.H. Bergan, James Cawley, James Edmunds Jr., Patrick Duffy, Patrick Bergan, Peter Forbes, Clerk of Council, T.M. Hart, James Mur ray, M. G. Neary, John B. Davis, Thomas Mann, George Eastlake, Mike Dragon, William Walker, Ex Postmaster M.G. Neary and William Eastlake.

On April 28 of 1890, Mayville was changed to the Borough of Mayfield.


The Flag of the Borough of Mayfield

Our flag is the embodiment, not of sentiment, but of history. It is a banner of hope for generation after generation, and fosters an abiding faith in the ideals and strengths of our community.

The Erie Breaker is the symbol of the coal mining industry, and the 0 & W Roundhouse and the steam locomotive portray the two railroads, the New York Ontario & Western (the 0 & W) and the Delaware & Hudson, (the D & H) which carried the coal to markets along the eastern seaboard. It was these industries that provided the jobs which attracted our ancestors and forefathers to migrate to this area.

These immigrants brought to our hometown their traditions and values upon which our heritage was born; a love of family, a respect for the value of education, a reverence for ethics based on a religion, a social and civic consciousness, a deep regard for hard work, and a commitment to the betterment of life.

The border which surrounds the three symbols represents a sense of community, a link uniting our residents and all of their values in a cohesive community. The steam locomotive breaching the line is symbolic of our citizens bringing their traditions and customs of the past into the present and future.

The three stars represents the various names of our community; Glenwood, Mayville, and Mayfield. The red, white and blue colors signify our boroughs commitment to the ideals embodied in the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution of the United States of America.